NEW MEXICO BROADBAND & SMART GRID SUMMIT

August 16, 2010

8:30 AM - 12:00 PM

Moriarty Civic Center 202 Broadway, Moriarty, NM 87035

AGENDA

8:30am	Registration Opens
8:30am – 9:30am	Coffee and Informal Networking
9:30am – 9:35am	Welcome Remarks
9:35am – 9:45am	Keynote Address
	Hon. Jonathan Adelstein Administrator Rural Utility Service (RUS) U.S. Department of Agriculture
9:45am – 10:45am	First Panel: Wiring New Mexico for the Future
	New Mexico is working to overcome digital divide challenges and harness broadband technologies to promote economic growth, education, and healthcare delivery, especially in rural communities. How can Federal policies help these efforts?
	Moderator: U.S. Senator Tom Udall
	Panelists:
	Dr. Dale Alverson Director, Center for Telehealth and Cybermedicine Research University of New Mexico
	Mr. Jonathan Badal CEO Sacred Wind Communications
	Hon. Aneesh Chopra Chief Technology Officer & Associate Director for Technology Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) Executive Office of the President
	Hon. Anna Gomez Deputy Assistant Secretary for Communications and Information Deputy Administrator, National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) U.S. Department of Commerce
	Hon. Jessica Zufolo Deputy Administrator, Rural Utilities Service (RUS) U.S. Department of Agriculture





New Mexico Broadband & Smart Grid Summit 📥

10:45am – 11:00am Break

11:00am – 12:00pm	Second Panel: Bringing Broadband to Energy - Smart Grid in New Mexico
	Some predict that Smart Grid technologies could transform power use as dramatically as
	the Internet revolutionized communications. This panel session will explore how New
	Mexico can lead the way in this new energy landscape.
	Moderator: U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman
	Panelists:
	Dr. Tom Bowles
	Science Advisor
	Office of Governor Bill Richardson
	Ms. Suedeen Kelly
	Partner
	Patton Boggs LLP
	Mr. Eric Lightner
	Director of the Federal Smart Grid Task Force
	Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability
	U.S. Department of Energy
	Dr. Daniel López
	President
	New Mexico Tech
	Dr. Terry Michalske
	Director, Energy Innovation Initiatives
	Sandia National Laboratories
	Mr. Luis Reyes
	CEO
	Kit Carson Electric Cooperative
12:00pm	Closing Remarks



