The Davis Joint Unified School District, Davis Senior High School, and DHS Music Department presents

**Friends from Corvallis** 

Featuring the Davis Senior High School Symphonic Band in performance Thomas Slabaugh II, Director with special guests



Wind Ensemble Dr. Christopher Chapman, Director Friday, March 16, 2018 Richard Brunelle Performance Hall 7:30pm

Davis Senior High School Symphonic Band Thomas Slabaugh II, Director

Symphonic Songs for Band (1958) I. Serenade II. Spiritual III. Celebration

The Promise of Living (1954) from "The Tender Land"

## Intermission

Oregon State University Wind Ensemble	
Dr. Christopher Chapman, Director	

Ra! (2002)

Allerseelen (1885)

Richard Strauss (1864-1949) transcribed by Oliver Davis

David Dzubay (b. 1964)

The Glory and the Grandeur (2006) Toshiko Chiba, Jacob Eckart, Dylan Norbury, soloists Russell Peck (b. 1945)

Ashen Skies of a Timeworn World (2017)

Casey Martin (b. 1989)

Robert Russell Bennett (1894-1981)

Aaron Copland (1900-1990) trans. by Kenneth Singleton Davis Senior High School Symphonic Band Thomas Slabaugh II, Director

Flute Evelynn Dominguez Grace Jacobson Shobha Khanna Jun Kim Rachel Klusky # Anna Li \* Nicole Lim \* Emily Lin Sofia Martin Kaylee Morgan Kevin Pan Shivan Seneviratne

<u>Oboe</u>

Crystal Kerner Henry Wang \* Darren Wong <u>Bassoon</u> Eleanor Richter \*# Izabella Terry

<u>Clarinet</u> Allison Bobrowsky Isabella Campos Chase Furman Rebecca Hirsch Ronja Keeley Jeffrey Keller Kevin Lau Damian Murillo Isaac Seibert, Contrabass Shehan Seneviratne Kayla Trowbridge



Oregon State University Wind Ensemble Dr. Christopher Chapman, Director

<u>Piccolo</u> Lauren Barker

<u>Flute</u> Rachel Soo-Hoo Amber Mao Omar Burkhart

<u>Oboe</u> Katelynn Whittle - M Tad Biggs - M Robert Koll

<u>English horn</u> Tad Biggs

<u>Bassoon</u> Michael Devin Darlene Focht <u>Clarinet</u> Eb – Eric Qian Bb - Ralph Musni Sarah Lemieux Adrian Galash Calvin Kocher Joshua Miyashiro BCl – Hannah Kutten

<u>Saxophone</u> Alto - Jen Coleman Alto – Baylor Turnbow Tenor – Braxton Adair Baritone – Kyle Ramirez

<u>Horn</u> Eric Russell Luke Schroeder Marcel Erickson Tarah Gustafson Saxophone Noor Aljabiry, Alto Alexander Barnes, Baritone Jacob Barretto, Alto Georgia Eastham, Tenor Wyatt Evans, Alto McCullough Gray, Alto \* Avery Keller, Baritone Megan MacKenzie, Tenor \* Chloe Sears, Baritone Katrina Toups, Alto Sean West, Alto Jessica Westlund, Baritone

Trumpet Ellie Baker \*# Alexander Du Julia Garcia Lillian Okamoto Mirielle Peauroi Zachary Turner Jillian Watkins

<u>French Horn</u> Noah Bystrom Benjamin London \* <u>Trombone</u> Freddy Bugni Byron McConnell

Euphonium William Alpers \* Joey Huang

<u>Tuba</u> Gemma Bertain Grayson McKim \*

Percussion Nicholas Archer \* Alexander Arias Maxwell Hays Drew Kraft # Carter Luck Andrew Montano, Piano Isabella Moore Abigail Nelson

Students are listed alphabetically to emphasize the importance of everyone contribution to the ensemble's success. \* Section Leaders

# Members of the 2017-18 Band Council

<u>Trumpet</u> Conor Egan Donnie Dugan Jake Nielson Bailey Palmer

<u>Trombone</u> Ben Rosene Spencer Townsend BTrbn – Kevin Rooney

Euphonium Sam Brown Chris Carigg

<u>Tuba</u> Emily Rumpca Maria Rivera <u>Piano</u> Aaron Cohen

<u>Harp</u> Nicole Quist

<u>String Bass</u> Mack Powers

## Percussion

Jade Hails Emily Walker Brooke Rose Dylan Norbury Jacob Eckart Hunter Davis Toshiko Chiba